METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE PHANTOM PAIN – E3 2014 GAMEPLAY DEMO


Wow! I'm pumped for this game. I've always had a spot for the Metal Gears series. I am partial for a select few out of all of them. Metal Gear Solid, the PS1 relaunching of the series was my initial gateway Metal Gear game into the series. Up until then Nintendo was keeper of the tactical espionage franchise. I had played a few of the NES Metal Gears, but had not been actually captivated by the experience to garner much feeling one way or the other for the characters, story, or universe. After falling head over heels for the PS1 MGS, I didn't get an overwhelming feeling of excitement for an MGS title untill the Xbox recieved their ported (expanded) version of Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, namely Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance. Which had been the first of KONAMI's steps in bringing the series to the Xbox universe.

There were some Playstation Portable (PSP) Metal Gear titles I didn't get into. I never got to own a PSP, therefore I never got to experience those Metal Gear titles. As well as for Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater was another of the series I never played. I would say it was from a lack of interest, but not of its story. I just had no interest in the games game mechanics, and button layout. Which both had been tweaked with, I suppose to improve the game in their eyes. They added a weird survival mechanic where you had to hunt small wild life (i.e. Snakes, rats, bunnies, etc) for resources. Then there was the Resident Evil esque control layout. It was in first person when shooting, no movement was allowed in any direction while firing. Not my thing. A patch eventually was released to allow for the more traditional style of firing. Too little, too late by that point for me though.

I'm not saying that my circumstances leading to playing a Metal Gear game or not is a reflection of the narrative quality of the Metal Gear Series. Not in the least. There were just the aforementioned barriers for some of the Metal Gear games I couldn't get through at the time, to enjoy their amazing stories. I have at least 8 to 12 months to catch up on those pieces of the story untill the release of the next installment in Metal Gear. No official release date for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain has been revealed, I'm just guessing. Not that to enjoy The Phantom Pain you have to have played through any of the other games since. They're all hard to keep up with on their own as it is, and yes it will flesh the story out if you did go back and catch up. It is not, however; necessary for comprehension of The Phantom Pain story. Each of the Metal Gear games narrative can be absorbed individually, and independent of each other.

I'm so psyched for MGSV: The Phantom Pain. There are so many potentially amazing experiences hinted at throughout this 2014 E3 video of The Phantom Pain that I'm giddy. The visuals are gorgeouse. With near photorealistic images. The environment is dense with detail creating a visceral experience. From a dynamic weather system, to the addition of wild life throughout. Presentation. Only Kojima has the uncanny ability to take so much expression out of his characters with the subtle direction of the camera. Not to mention Metal Gears iconic musical scores saturating the scenes with an added layer of emphatic substance to the unraveling story. I wants it. It can't come soon enough for me.

Of course I also did catch a few odd balls in this video as well. For instance, how is leaning over the side of a horse fooling any one. Really? Also, with the addition of the Fulton recovery system it seems a bit of the games highly regarded tactical espionage mechanics have been neglected here. I'll say it is a humorous new addition to an already notoriously peppered, yet favored Japanese culture humored game as it is. For instance, Metal Gears infamous stealth accessory, of which no covert operative on the battlefield can be without. Yes, I'm referring to Snakes classic cardboard box. So it's not that I don't see its function within the material. I have to also account for the loss of a critical part of tactical espionage commonly known in the Metal Gear series. Mainly its the tension of locating a place to hide the unconscious, or eliminated foes to avoid suspicion and ultimately revealing your presence to every one. Then again the Fulton recovery system was shown not to work indoors. Leaving room for these high tension moments to take place during indoor gameplay.

I'd say it is still not past the boundaries of disbelief for Metal Gear Soild V: The Phantom Pain to contain those heart wrenching moments, of when you've meticulously labored through over 70% of an objective. Have taken into account for every guards status, and their where a bouts on the map. To then suddenly hear the alarm going off because one of your victims has been discovered and now you're left with the decision to either restart the objective, to satisfy your OCD and complete the objective without raising enemy awareness of your presence. Or you can scramble to muster whatever tactical advantage you may still gain over the enemies in thier alarmed state. As appealing as you might think it will be not to have to worry about enemy bodies layed about the map. You're missing the point. Its strategy, and a strategy with a long history of success in the franchise. I'd be disappointed if this element of tactical espionage was removed.

Last but not least. MOTHERBASE MINECRAFT! (sort of). I'm intrigued.

Metal Gear Soild V: The Phantom Pain will be available for last gen systems: Xbox 360 & Playstation 3, as well as new gen systems: Xbox One & Playstation 4. Whenever KONAMI decides so. I'm still waiting for a release date to be announced. All we have is a release window of 2015, which I suspect may be delayed due to industry standards of not sticking to thier release date goals. No signs Nintendo is getting a Metal Gear game either.

 

 

Leave a Reply

